So it’s assignment 3 with Project 52. This time, our assignment is about “tear sheets” . A tear sheet is a set of images or ideas that get you inspired – maybe a landscape, lighting ideas, fashion etc. Think of it like Pinterest.

A tear sheet is used to provide you with ideas and you can also use a tear sheet to dissect how an image was done and try to emulate it. What a tear sheet is not about is copying images. As photographers, we have to make sure that we don’t copy an image but rather use it to make your own image – having your own style.

Being a Toronto wedding photographer and Mississauga portrait photographer, it’s easy for me to have a tear sheet that revolves around wedding photography, senior portrait photography, fashion photography etc. However, just like what I said on my previous post; I joined the Project 52 group to broaden my know-how in photography – especially commercial product photography. Thus, I’ve decided to focus on food photography for inspiration. Lighting people and creating drama on my images is a lot easier for me than lighting food and making it appealing. So this assignment is really a challenge for me – see below … I must admit, compared to my tear sheet; my food photography is not at par.

It will take a lot of practice for me to reach the level where I want my food photography to be. I love hard work and I know through constant practice and perseverance it will definitely pay off.

toronto wedding photographer, toronto portrait photographer, high school senior photographer mississauga, mississauga portrait photographer, event photographer, product photographer mississauga

Leave a Reply

